How-To Halloween: Medusa & Statue

Medusa & StatueBryan & I have a bit of a tradition going on: creating coordinating Halloween costumes.

We started dating almost a year ago (exciting!) and one of the first things we did together was attend a costume party dressed as a hipster couple. It was really fun to go all out and paste bored expressions onto our faces all evening. Plus, we won an award for our “costumes.”

I’m even more excited about what we came up with this year: Medusa and one of the men she turned to stone. (click for a refresh on the myth)

Bryan and I had a great time creating these costumes (which largely consisted of body paint & makeup + stuff we already had) and even more fun wearing them. I’d never seen anyone dress up as this before, so it felt so fresh!

Here’s how we did it.

Medusa:

first, I found what I was going to wear. I decided on a green dress that’s drapey and a bit Grecian, a gold necklace, and brown & gold gladiator sandals.

I then washed my hair & put in a ton of mousse. I messed it up, put it in a high bun, and let it dry. Then I took it down and made lots of messy braids and put it in a side pony.

Then I did my makeup, which I think is really important to the “withering gaze” this costume requires! First, I put on some light foundation. Then, I accentuated my brows with brown pencil. I applied light green shadow all over my lid up to my brows & used black liquid liner to create a cat-eye on my top lash line. I then used a navy blue pencil to accentuate my lower lash line. Some “They’re Real!” Benefit mascara (the best!) and a touch of red lipstick, and I was done!

Here’s a closeup when my makeup was fresh. IMG_9401

Lastly, but definitely not least, I opened a bag of plastic glow-in-the-dark snakes and bobby-pinned them all through my ponytail.

I was ready to petrify!

Statue:

Bryan visited a costume store and bought gray body paint & a toga. He wore sandals & was obligated to freeze in place whenever I looked at him.

It doesn’t get much simpler than that!

What do you plan to be this year? 

What is your best couples’ costume idea? 

Happy Fall!

xo, j

3 thoughts on “How-To Halloween: Medusa & Statue

  1. Pingback: 28 Japanese Halloween Costumes That Will Haunt Your Dreams | R.B.Bailey Jr

Leave a Reply

