Introducing: The Friday Five

Welcome to The Friday Five, a brand-spankin’-new feature of Modest Exaggeration.  The Friday Five will be my way to reflect upon the past week and realize what little things made it happier.  Because I am a big believer in happy things.

1.  Oatmeal cookies.  Quaker.  I actually just made these.  I used more cinnamon than called for (oops) and more vanilla (oops, again).  I mixed the oats in with the flour mixture and then threw it in the mixer (not supposed to happen).  They turned out deliciously anyway.  I love when that happens.  It was even better because I’d been craving oatmeal cookie dough all week.  I don’t quite understand why I made all those little mistakes, though.  It was probably because I was feeling so darn…content and dreamy, listening to my CD (see number two).

2. The Civil Wars.  I don’t know if I’ve ever loved a band more- with the exception of my Paramore obsession in middle school.  I bought Barton Hollow from Amazon for Mom’s Christmas gift.  It pretty much turned into my Christmas gift.  Ahem.  The Civil Wars make me dream. 

3.  This.  I don’t think an explanation is necessary.  4.  Essie polish in Play Date.  It’s this wonderful purple that makes my hands look happy.

5.  Vinyl Cafe Unplugged by Stuart McLean.  This is the kind of book that makes you smile and laugh out loud and curl up by the wood stove with a plate of comfort food as you read (or at least, that’s what I do).  Read more about it here.

xo, j

Leave a Reply

