The ‘Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover’ Project

I am a reader.  To the core, no doubt about it.

Recently, I started realizing something that I often do.  Something that I’m certain most of us do, but something I’m a little ashamed of, nonetheless.

I judge books by their covers.  It’s true.

I was at the local library last week, filling my arms with as many books as I could possibly carry.  And then I realized: everything I was holding had a pretty, shiny cover.  My books showcased people in mysterious poses, mysteriously shadowed, with mysterious expressions and mysteriously beautiful backgrounds.  Or they had simplistic fronts: a jacket in a beautiful color with a large gorgeous font, or a tiny symbol meant to represent some aspect of the awaiting story.

They were all books like this:

Then I realized that I was ignoring the other books, totally contradicting my belief that looks aren’t everything.  And I felt really bad.  

This may sound ridiculous.  But please understand that I am a very compassionate person, compassionate to a fault.  When I was little and had tons of stuffed animals (beanie-babies were a favorite), I created a schedule for them, i.e.: Snowy, Cuddles, and Fluffy could be on my bed on Mondays, while Oliver, Cinnamon, and Daisy were a Tuesdays-only crowd.  Now, the reason why I did this?  I didn’t want to hurt my stuffed animals’ feelings.  Yeah, it was that bad.  (Do I need a support group?)

So once I finally realized the error of my ways, I checked this out:

It was perfect!

Though I’d be lying if I said I didn’t try to hide it as I walked to check it out.  

Still, a short novel covered by bold, mustard-colored letters proclaiming “Hot Lunch” and a smug blue-haired girl in a green waffle-knit shirt was in my (temporary) possession.

I had overcome.

[Oh, and I read the book.  It wasn’t that bad.  It wasn’t that great, either.  The point is, though, that I broke through the wall.  Maybe a slew of “amazing personality” books are just out there, waiting for me to see past their not-s0-pretty faces.]

So here’s what’s next:

(wish me luck. xo, j)

2 thoughts on “The ‘Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover’ Project

Leave a Reply

