Un Petit Problème

I should’ve known.  One can’t just read about Paris before bed without dreaming of Paris.  In this case it was food.  My dreams were filled with sticky-sweet tarte tatin, soft cheeses, rich mousse, and perfect warm souffle.  And apparently they were vivid enough to rouse me from slumber at the uncomfortable hour of 6:30 am.

However, I hardly mind, since Paris is quite alright to think about in any state- conscious or not- and waking up never means you have to stop dreaming.

I remember…

My first escargot experience.  Eager to cross the item off our bucket lists, my brother and I eagerly tore the white paper of the package containing ten herb-and-butter-sauce-covered snails.  It was a beautiful June day in the Luxembourg Gardens.  Sprawled on the the grass somewhere, we ate salty snails on a crusty baguette in a gorgeous garden and wondered if this was all quite real.

Breakfast.  Waking up wasn’t so hard to do in the City of Lights.  Even the most stubborn of sleepers could surely be awakened with the promise of a perfect un chocolat chaud: or in my case, two.  I actually became eager to get up and get going at the thought of another day enjoying my perfect breakfast:  two croissants, an individual pot of fig jam, and a few wedges of soft cheese (and, of course, the afore mentioned hot chocolate).

Chocolate mousse worthy of poetry or other artistic preservation.  It was that good; it’s true.  Trattoria Rim Pizzeria serves a dark chocolate mousse that changed my entire perspective on desserts: bigger does not mean better.  Their mousse was like a cold, light, fluffy Lindt truffle in a custard cup.  Flawless. 

Boeuf bourguignon and crème caramel.  This, enjoyed on a rainy day in a cozy cafe near the Pompidou, was pure perfection.  I still daydream about this meal.  And that’s all I have to say about that. 

Crepes at night.  A huge folded crepe filled with Nutella, banana slices, and coconut.  Eaten just as it was getting dark (about 10 pm in Paris in June).  On a busy sidewalk on this first night in this overwhelming and wondrous city I had somehow known to love all my life.  This is my memory of my first-ever crepe in Paris.

Paris, je t’aime.

Bonne journée, j

One thought on “Un Petit Problème

Leave a Reply

