Wakeup Call

Today was unexpectedly wonderful.

Why? Good question. Nothing out-of-the-ordinary happened. Except, I guess, something kind of did. Today dealt directly with one of my New Year’s resolutions, and it’s this one: take nothing and no one for granted.

Today, I spent nearly every minute with my mom. It wasn’t a planned mother-daughter day or anything, it just turned out that way. And now that I think about it, it was one of the best days I’ve had in a long time.

My mom. She's cute.
My mom. She’s cute.

My mom is cool. She gets it. We can talk for hours, and today we did. We made broiled grapefruit with honey on top, and we talked. We talked about our faith, about what we’ve been learning, about what we want, about what we need to give up. We talked about the future, my future, and how I can prepare for the major changes I’ll be facing before too long. We talked until lunchtime. We made tostadas. We kept talking. We did some errands, played with the dog, took down the Christmas tree, made dinner…normal, everyday things. And those things didn’t feel boring or tiresome, like they sometimes do. I just felt content. Happy.

I realized today that I often spend time missing the people that aren’t around me rather than appreciating the people that are! I’m doing my best to change that. Thanks, God, for the wakeup call.

And Mom, I love you.

xo, j

 

P.S. If you’re reading this, you should go hug/call your mom. I bet she’d appreciate it.

One thought on “Wakeup Call

Leave a Reply

