A Major Change

The beginning of this semester brought about a major change for me.

Ooh, that sounds intriguing, yes? Well, don’t get too excited. I did that on purpose. It’s a pun, appropriate considering I’ve officially changed my major from journalism to English!

Okay, I know. It’s not like I’m switching from economics to animal science or something. Still, in many ways the subjects are worlds apart, and I am feeling extreme relief at choosing the one that just feels right.

While a journalist’s number-one priority is to seek truth and report it, I simply adore stories; stories not necessarily true. I don’t want “just the facts.” I want details, metaphors, symbolism, themes. I understand the power books have to fuel rebellions, offer hope, change lives, transcend time. As Ray Bradbury said once, “You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.”

I will never stop reading them.Porch readingreading on the deckreading on the porchmy hands

xo, j

Leave a Reply

