Get Glad

It’s one of those days February is famous for: gray, chilly, and bleak, the sun refusing to make any kind of appearance.

I’ve had “I Gave You All” by Mumford & Sons on repeat for the last half hour. It’s the song to blast while staring out the window at the gray with a fierce expression, lamenting a fabricated dramatic break-up.

I gave you all…and you rip it from my hands, and you swear it’s all gone. And you rip out all I have just to say that you won.”

I’m a hopeless romantic easily-influenced by lyrics and weather, what can I say.

Well here’s one thing: while it can be fun to act depressed for a 4-minute song, feeling that way for any longer isn’t much fun.

So I’m a big believer in being happy when there’s nothing obvious to be happy about. Because what you do is you find things. This is why I’m so addicted to instagram. I think it’s powerful to seek beauty in the mundane, the regular, the everyday existence. It’s too easy, sometimes, to become apathetic and miss all the good stuff. Negativity is strong and it will win unless you train your positivity-muscle like you’re gettin’ ready for the Olympics.

Instagram is a good challenge. I think, “how can I find the beauty in this snowy street/sidewalk/plate of broccoli?” It’s, for the most part, easier than I expect.

Here are some of my favorite images from the past few weeks. I look at them often and they’re good inspiration. Why not try it with what you see on a daily basis?

Cheer up, love! Beauty is everywhere.

Go find it.

xo, j

 

3 thoughts on “Get Glad

Leave a Reply

