Animal Farm

Nothing feels as good as a little bit of hard work. There’s something satisfying about farm work, in particular. That’s what I did this morning, but this farm had more than chickens and cows. I spent a few hours today helping out at D&D Farms, an animal sanctuary and rescue not far from MU. Currently residing there: a lion named Aslan, three tigers, several cougars, six enormous dogs, a lynx, a couple of South American raccoons, and much more.

It was, to put it simply, really cool.

It warmed up to about 50 degrees, which was absolutely perfect, and my main task was to clear out a pen that will eventually hold several llamas. You’re welcome, llamas.

I really enjoyed putting on some work jeans and already-filthy Converse and just…doin’ work! I didn’t realize it until today, but I’ve missed that. I grew up in a very rural area, and while I was definitely never a country girl, I also wasn’t afraid to get dirty. Trips to get firewood- Dad armed with a chainsaw, the rest of us stacking- were a necessary part of being a member of the Journey family. Since I was old enough to manage it, in the summer I’ve had to help mow, and we have a lot of land. Last year, I started a small garden, and some of the best days I had last summer were helping a friend with his farm chores: I fed cows and washed pigs, and we started at 6:30 am and I loved it! Today’s outing was a breath of fresh air- figuratively and literally. Plus, I met some great people.

Now, here are some pictures. I know you’re curious about that lion, and you have to see my dog-friend, Petey. He’s kind of totally adorable.

Where do you volunteer? Have you helped with animals before? If you have a chance, I encourage you to go for it! I hope to help again at D&D.

xo, j

One thought on “Animal Farm

Leave a Reply

