Going AWOL

Monday I added another checkmark to my concert wish list: Bryan and I saw AWOLNATION at the Blue Note. If you have a chance to get to one of their shows, don’t miss it. It was rad: so fun, crazy, and high-energy. The crowd was major into it. When the band played the opening notes of “Sail,” I thought my eardrums were going to burst from the screaming. It was absolutely awesome to hear that one live.  AWOL bandmatesWe met the band by stalking their tour bus ’til they left the venue, like all dedicated concert-goers. The pics above are me with Drew Stewart, the guitarist, Bryan with drummer Hayden Scott, “The Shark,” and Bryan and I with the lead, Aaron Bruno. He is quite the character, lemme tell you. We talked with Drew and Hayden a bit, which was cool, but AB–”listen, this has to be quick; I’m about to get effin’ sick, man”– didn’t stick around for long. 😛 “Blame it on the ADD, baby”? His performance was awesome, though. My favorite part was when he unexpectedly jumped into the audience and started crowd-surfing– while singing.

Starting the night off was Mother Mother and then Blondfire. I love Blondfire’s stuff, but it wasn’t a very exciting show. I’m fine with just listening to them on Spotify, honestly. Mother Mother was better, and the best thing about their performance was that I am now familiar with their music! And I like, a lot. It’s catchy, keyboard-heavy, and a little bit dark and haunting. Check out “The Sticks” from the 2012 album of the same name. So very cool.

It was a great night! Have you seen any of these guys? Opinion?

xo, j

P.S. If you don’t know AWOLNATION (like a bunch of people I told about the concert), I suggest you crawl out from beneath your rock and look up “Sail.” And I say that in love. 😉

Also, a link to an awesome cover here.

4 thoughts on “Going AWOL

  1. I love AWOLNATION, but haven’t seen them perform live yet. Sounds like a good show. I’ll have to catch them next time they are near here.

Leave a Reply

