on repeat: “the bay” by metronomy

metroI have a new favorite band. Maybe that doesn’t mean a lot, since it happens on nearly a weekly basis, but for what it’s worth, I must say that Metronomy is the coolest.

I’m a little late to the party, as the band formed in England in 1999, but better late than never. I never promised to be a music blogger, after all. And growing up in the rural Midwest doesn’t exactly give you a jump on the indie scene, but I’m working on it. 😉

“The Bay,” from 2011’s “The English Riviera” has been on repeat all day, which is why I’m writing about it. That really is the point of my “On Repeat” feature, to write about the songs I’ve played so often that anyone within earshot probably wants to injure me– or at the very least, my speaker system.

So check it out (video below) and see if you don’t wanna do the same. “The Bay” makes me think of going dancing in Europe…not that I’ve actually done that. Yet.

Funny thing about that, though: as I was reading up on Metronomy, I happened to see that they are playing a show in Lyon…tonight, in fact. I missed it by a month!  Ah well. See you soon, Lyon! (*squeal*)

Also check out “I’m Aquarius” from 2013’s “Love Letters,” and if you’re up for something a bit more challenging (read: it’s slow at first, but worth hanging in there), try the title track.

Well, I’m off to listen to “The Bay” a few dozen more times and to find a Metronomy poster for my room. Pretty sure Joseph Mount’s wide blue eyes and messy hair are exactly what was missing from my wall decor.

xo,

j

Leave a Reply

