Rewind: climbing the Eiffel tower

view from the top of the tower
view from the top of the tower

I’ve decided to start a little series of “rewind” posts, with which I’ll try to catch up on all the things I’ve missed writing about as they happened, France-wise.

First up, I figured I’d share the requisite pretty Eiffel Tower pics.

Sometime last week (was it only last week?!) everyone got dinner on the Champs-Élysées and then walked over to the Tour Eiffel. I’m pretty sure we got stuck in a tourist trap for dinner, but that was okay. It can be hard for twelve people to agree on a spot! The rosé was perfectly refreshing, anyway, and I finally got to order a cheese plate. Plus, it was basically shameless-tourist day already: we had already visited the packed-to-the-brim Ladurée for macarons and walked around the Louvre and Notre Dame.

After we ate, we just had to cross a bridge over the Seine and a couple of streets and there we were!

Here’s where I’d insert some poetic musing about the beauty and significance of this grand structure, but, uh, my attention was a bit divided between the tower…and the groups of men trying desperately to get us to buy beer and champagne at any cost and every invasion of our personal space.

However, it was a good opportunity to practice the Parisian glare and some get-out-of-my-face-s’il-vous-plaît-type phrases in French.

We took some pictures on the ground and then it was time to go up: by foot, biên sur! Mostly because we were not waiting in that elevator line. 😉

Molly, Megan, and I were the only brave souls willing to make the ascent. (Either brave or we just had the most comfortable shoes). We walked/jogged/gasped our way up all 704 stairs open to the public and then took the lift up to the very top.M&M

It was fun, and really not too challenging! Taking the stairs is also cheaper, faster, and less crowded (and makes up for a few of the dozens of croissants you’ll eat on a Paris visit).

Here’s the view from either the first or second level, I can’t remember.view from 1stWord to the wise: if you decide to climb the tower’s stairs, maybe watch what you wear. At least if you have a tendency towards the klutzy. 😛

Let me explain: at one point, Megan took out her phone and said she was going to make a video of our climb. This was right before I tripped up the stairs and gracefully fell on my face. Oh, and I was wearing a dress. Let’s just say that particular video was erased (or it better be, Megan!).

Sandals also weren’t the best choice, as it was easy to stub your toe on those steps! Wanna see a picture of the worst of it? Probably not, but here it is anyway.

ow
ow

Consider it proof of the climb.  un unique

We really timed it perfectly, a happy accident. When we reached the first floor, the sun was starting to set, and by the time we reached the top, it was pure night, all of Paris lit and sparkling.sparkleI need to remember to add this to my Bucket List just so I can cross it off. 🙂tower at night

xo,

J

One thought on “Rewind: climbing the Eiffel tower

Leave a Reply

